Qualification Overview.

NCFE CACHE Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Behaviour that Challenges

NCFE CACHE Level 2 Certificate in Understanding Behaviour that Challenges

About this qualification

This qualification is designed to increase learners’ awareness and understanding of behaviour that challenges and its effects. By completing the qualification, learners will develop in-depth knowledge of behaviour that challenges, which could support progression onto other appropriate qualifications and into relevant employment in the health and social care sector. This qualification would be valuable to learners already working in education and health and social care settings.

There are no specific recommended prior learning requirements for this qualification. However, learners may find it helpful if they’ve already achieved a Level 1 qualification in healthcare, social care, childcare or supporting learning.

Qualification structure

To achieve this qualification learners must successfully complete 4 mandatory units.
Social Care Courses
Qualification number (QN)


Total qualification time (TQT):


Guided learning hours (GL)


Entry requirements:

Learners should be at least 16 years old. We do not set any other entry requirements, but colleges or training providers may have their own guidelines.

Mandatory units

• Understand behaviour that challenges
• Understand how to support positive behaviour
• Understand the importance of effective communication and the management of behaviour that challenges
• Understand the role of reflection and support for those involved in incidents of behaviour that challenges


All units will be individually internally assessed using a range of methods which could include written assignments or tasks.

Progression opportunities

This qualification provides progression to a number of qualifications including:

• Level 2 and 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care
• Level 2 qualifications in Mental Health
• Level 2 Certificate in Principles of Working with Individuals with Learning Disabilities
• Level 2 and 3 Certificates in Understanding Autism
• Level 2 and 3 qualifications for the Children and Young People’s Workforce.
• Level 2 and 3 qualifications in Understanding Dementia